Allan Gibofsky, M.D.

Public Health-Preventative Medicine
Allan Gibofsky

Dr. Gibofsky received his undergraduate degree from Brooklyn College of the City University of New York, his medical degree from Weill Medical College of Cornell University and his law degree from Fordham University. He completed his internship in Pathology, followed by a residency in Medicine at New York Hospital. Dr. Gibofsky completed a fellowship in Rheumatology/Immunology jointly at the Hospital for Special Surgery at The Rockefeller University. He has authored or co-authored numerous papers and text chapters, primarily on the immunogenetics of rheumatic diseases and legal aspects of medical practice. Dr. Gibofsky is known for his work on mechanisms of host-microbe interactions in rheumatology, and, in particular for his basic and clinical studies on rheumatic fever.


Dr. Gibofsky is Professor of Medicine and Public Health at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University, Professor of Law at Fordham University and Adjunct Faculty at the Rockefeller University. He is an Attending Physician and Rheumatologist at both Hospital for Special Surgery and NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital.


Immediate Past President of the American College of Rheumatology and Secretary-Treasurer of The New York Rheumatism Association, Dr. Gibofsky is past-Chair of the Medical & Scientific Committee of the New York Chapter of The Arthritis Foundation and received its Physicians' Leadership Award in 1999. He also served as a member of the local and national Arthritis Foundation Board of Trustees, and was Chair for Professional Education. Dr. Gibofsky has participated in numerous professional and public education programs, nationally and internationally.


Dr. Gibofsky's civic activities include membership on the Brooklyn College Foundation Board of Trustees. He is a Jonas Salk Scholar of the City University and in 1997, was named Alumnus of the Year by Brooklyn College. Dr. Gibofsky is a member of the Health and Public Policy Committee of the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine. He is also a past president of the American College of Legal Medicine, and is the current Chair of the American Board of Legal Medicine.


Gibofsky A, Williams GW, McKenna F, Fort JG: Comparing the efficacy of

cyclooxygenase 2-specific inhibitors in treating osteoarthritis: Appropriate trial

design considerations and results of a randomized, placebo-controlled trial

Arth Rheum 48: 3102-3111, 2003.


Yazici Y, Gibofsky A: Rheumatic fever, Sjogrens syndrome and relapsing polychondritis. In: Clinical Primer of Rheumatology . Edited by Koopman WJ,

Boulware D and Heudebert, GR. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2003.


Gibofsky A: Clinical profiles of celecoxib and rofecoxib in the rheumatic diseases.

J Hypertens 20 : s25-s30, 2002.


Lipsky PE, Abramson SB, Breedveld FC, Brook P, Burmeister GR, Buttgeriet F, Cannon GW, Catella-Lawson F, Crofford LJ, Doherty M, Dougados M, DuBois RN, Froelich J, Garcia-Rodriguez LA, Gibofsky A, Hernandez-Diaz S, Hochberg MC, Krause A, Liang MH, Machold K, Peloso PM, Riasz LG, Schayes B, Scheiman JM, Simon LS, Smolen J, Stichtenoth DOA, Stoekle JD, van de Putte LBA, Whelton A: Analysis of the effect of COX-2 specific inhibitors and recommendations for their use in clinical practice. J Rheumatology 27: 1338-1340, 2000.


Yazici Y, Gibofsky A. A diagnostic approach to musculoskeletal pain. Clinical Cornerstone 2: 1-10, 1999.

Honors and Awards

1969 Jonas Salk Scholar, The City University of New York


1969 Phi Epsilon Pi Fraternity Undergraduate of the Year


1972 Research Achievement Award, Cornell University Medical College


1972 American Medical Association Research Achievement Award


1973 William M. Polk Research Award, Cornell University Medical College


1973 Mosby Research Prize, Cornell University Medical College


1977-1979 National Research Service Award, National Institutes of Health


1979-1992 Clinical Investigator Award, National Institutes of Health


1981-2001 American Medical Association Physicians Recognition Award


1985-1990 Arthritis Foundation, NY Chapter, Research Award


1995 Brooklyn College Alumnus of the Year Award